Thursday, December 1, 2011

New Physical Therapy Board Appointed by Gov. Hickenlooper

Colorado Gov. John Hickenlooper has announced the appointment of five physical therapists and two consumers to the new Board of Physical Therapy. Restoring the Board was the Chapter’s number one priority during the 2011 Sunset process. The legislation, SB11-169 formed the Board and authorized it to promulgate rules and regulations associated with the new PT Practice Act. The Board, which will begin its work on January 1st, replaces the Physical Therapy Advisory Committee that has been in place for many years. Congratulations to the PTs who are all members of the APTA / Colorado Chapter:

Britt Smith, PT, DPT, private practice, Grand Junction – 2 year term
Carolyn Armstrong, PT, DPT, private practice, Nederland – 3 year term
Steve DiPaolo, PT, corporate practice, Lakewood – 3 year term
Ann Dinsmore, PT, hospital practice, Fort Collins – 4 year term
Tamara Struessel, PT, DPT, CU faculty, Denver – 4 year term
Marion Wells, public member – 4 years
Cindy Charlton, public member – 2 year term